The Federal Ocean Acidification Research and Monitoring Act of 2009 (FOARAM Act) directed the Subcommittee on Ocean Science and Technology (SOST) to create an Interagency Working Group on Ocean Acidification (IWG-OA). The IWG-OA was chartered by SOST in October 2009 and includes representatives from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), National Science Foundation (NSF), Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Regulation, and Enforcement (BOEMRE), Department of State (DOS), Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS), U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), and the U.S. Navy. NOAA chairs the group, with vice-chairs from NSF and NASA.. The agencies represented in the IWG-OA have mandates for research and/or management of resources likely to be impacted by ocean acidification. The group meets regularly to coordinate ocean acidification activities across the Federal government to fulfill the goals of the FOARAM Act.


IWG-OA Members (as of December 2013):
* indicates lead member from each agency
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Elizabeth Jewett*, Chair
Krisa Arzayus
Ned Cyr
Richard Feely
Steve Gittings
Kenric Osgood
Christopher Sabine

National Science Foundation (NSF)
David Garrison*, Vice-chair

Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)
Mary Boatman*

Department of State (DOS)
Kenli Kim*

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Jason Grear*
Christopher Moore

National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Paula Bontempi*, Vice-chair
Kathy Tedesco

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS)
Bret Wolfe*

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Lisa Robbins*
Kimberly Yates

U.S. Navy
Katherine Nixon*

U.S. Department of Agriculture
Maxwell Mayeaux



Participating Agencies

Department of State      Nasa


NOAA Logo      National Science Foundation


Boemre      USGS


Navy      EPA Logo