FIS Program Participants

The FIS program lies within NOAA Fisheries Headquarters and includes The Office of Science and Technology, The Office of Sustainable Fisheries, The Office of Protected Resources, The Office of International Affairs, The Office of Chief Information Officer.

 NOAA Fisheries Regional Offices:

  1. Alaska
  2. Greater Atlantic
  3. Pacific Islands
  4. Southeast
  5. West Coast

 NOAA Fisheries Science Centers:

  1. Alaska
  2. Northeast
  3. Northwest
  4. Pacific Islands
  5. Southeast
  6. Southwest

 Fisheries Information Networks:

The FIS Program works with state and territorial marine fisheries science and management agencies. In particular the Fisheries Information Networks play a critical role as the link to state and regional data collection programs. Fisheries Information Networks act both as key data contributors and as liaisons for identifying and working to meet state and regional data needs. They include:

  1. Alaska Fisheries Information Network
  2. Atlantic Coastal Cooperative Statistics Program
  3. Gulf Fisheries Information Network
  4. Pacific Fisheries Information Network
  5. Recreational Fisheries Information Network
  6. Western Pacific Fisheries Information Network

 Professional Specialty Groups:

Professional Specialty Groups are made up of subject matter experts drawn from NOAA and partner agencies. Their role is to provide technical expertise and help guide priority-setting in each specific area. They include:

  1. Electronic Reporting
  2. Access and Dissemination
  3. Quality Management

 Cross Regional Efforts:

The FIS Program is involved in Cross Regional Efforts which are ad hoc initiatives that impact all NOAA regions and science centers.   They utilize the FIS network to convene a cross-section of stakeholders to evaluate and make recommendations on future needs. They include:

  1. Electronic Technologies Strategic Planning Group
  2. Sampling Intensity Processing Working Group

For more information on FIS Program leadership, click here.