IMOS National Reference Station - Ningaloo
western Australia

Latitude:   -21.9900     Longitude:   113.7790

Associated Investigators:

Anthony Richardson ,
Claire Davies ,   Frank Coman ,   Ruth Eriksen ,   Felicity McEnnulty ,   Anita Slotwinkski ,   Mark Tonks ,   Julian Uribe-Palomino  

Related Web Sites:

[IMOS National Reference Stations page]   [IMOS-NRS Data Portal]  

Related Time Series:

[ IMOS-NRS Darwin ]   [ IMOS-NRS Esperance ]   [ IMOS-NRS Kangaroo Island ]   [ IMOS-NRS Maria Island ]   [ IMOS-NRS Ningaloo ]   [ IMOS-NRS North Stradbroke Island ]   [ IMOS-NRS Port Hacking ]   [ IMOS-NRS Rottnest Island ]   [ IMOS-NRS Yongala ]   [ AusCPR program ]  

Ningaloo (21.99 S 113.779 E) is one of two National Reference Stations (NRS) that was dropped from the original set of nine mooring s that comprise the Australian Integrated Marine Observing System s (IMOS). The NRSs are designed to provide regular baseline information to understand how large-scale, long-term change and variability in the global ocean are affecting Australia s coastal ecosystems. The goal is to develop multi-decadal time series of the physical and biogeochemical properties of Australia s coastal seas, informing research into ocean change, climate variability, ocean circulation and ecosystem responses. The Ningaloo NRS was isolated and logistically challenging to sample monthly, it operated between November 2010 and August 2013. This dataset contains seasonal data on zooplankton biomass and species composition collected using a 100 micron mesh drop-net deployed to 25 metres. The corresponding biogeochemical datasets include temperature, salinity, nutrients, Chlorophyll and phytoplankton abundance are available through the IMOS portal.

These data from the Australian Continuous Plankton Recorder (AusCPR) survey and the Australia National Mooring Network (ANMN), both part of the Integrated Marine Observing System (IMOS) - IMOS is supported by the Australian Government through the National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Strategy and the Super Science Initiative.