MEETING SUMMARY

NATIONAL SALTWATER ANGLER REGISTRY TEAM CONFERENCE CALL

MAY 2, 2011
4:00 PM TO 6:00 PM EDT

The Registry Team met by conference call on May 2, 2011 at 4:00 pm EDT. In attendance
were: Josh DeMello for Ed Ebisui; Matt Menashes for Ron Regan; George Lapointe; Spud
Woodward; Bob Clark; Chris Vonderweidt; Ken Franke; Dick Brame; Doug Grout; Corey
Niles; Mark Robson joined by Bill Teahen, Bill Hunter and Jessica McCawley.

1. Review/report on status of State-NOAA Memoranda of Agreement and designation of
Exempted States

a.

Status of State Exemptions: All are currently exempt and have completed MOAS
except New Jersey, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, District of Columbia and U.S. Virgin
Islands. Recent update information:

New Hampshire, Massachusetts and Rhode Island: All are implementing new
licenses in 2011 (Massachusetts calls theirs a permit).

Maine is to implement a new free registry in 2011. They also have a striped bass
endorsement for which a fee is required. The legislature is pursuing an
amendment to drop the striped bass endorsement and to make some other
modifications to the registry. We are waiting to see what passes.

New York’s fishing license was repealed for two years and replaced with a free
registry. They will need to modify their MOA, but should continue to qualify as
an exempted state.

Pennsylvania has a single fishing license for all the state’s waters, and is an
exempted state. They are working on setting up a stamp or endorsement that
license holders will need if they fish for striped bass or shad. That will allow
them to separate out and send to NMFS the few thousand who fish for
anadromous species in the states’ limited tidal waters from the 900,000 license
holders who mainly fish for freshwater species.

Maryland and Virginia are both implementing new free registries for those
anglers who are exempt from their fishing license requirements.

New Jersey enacted a new law that authorizes NJDEP to establish a free registry
program. They are preparing a web-based registration program and an Executive
Order to establish the registration requirements. They expect to launch the new
system on May 4.

DC contacted us on April 11 to initiate the exemption process for their ~8000
license holders. They are eligible for an exemption and are reviewing a proposed
MOA.

Texas is not eligible for an exemption under the current rule due to the exclusion
of age 16 anglers from their license requirement. We are working on an interim
agreement that will allow Texas to send their license data to NOAA while we
consider amending the registry rule re exemptions for anglers under age 17. In
the meantime, we are not requiring Texas-licensed anglers to register.

2. Update of Registry Grant Program for 2010 and discussion of potential 2011 grants



The 2010 regional allocations were:

ASMFC-$1,086,444 (if all states and jurisdictions in the region were eligible and funded
equally, this would amount to an average of $67,902 per potential grantee);
GSMFC-$850,278 (if all states and jurisdictions in the region were eligible and funded
equally, this would amount to an average of $121,468 per potential grantee);
PSMFC-$563,278 (if all states and jurisdictions in the region were eligible and funded
equally, this would amount to an average of $112,656 per potential grantee).

Summary of 2010 actual Registry Grant Awards made by the Commissions:

Region Total to each Awarded to Balance
Commission States/Commission
agreement
ASMFC $1,086,444 $750,561 $335,883"
GSMFC $850,278 $664,370 $185,908°
PSMFC $563,278 $0 $563,278°

The Registry Team discussed the potential for continuing the program. Funding is
expected to be available in the FY 2011 final budget to continue the program, and is
again included in the FY 12 President’s budget request. States with registry-based MOASs
are early in the process of transmitting their state registry data to NMFS. Under the
MOAs, NMFS will evaluate the state data and states will be responding to those
evaluations within 6 months by preparing a registry data improvement plans. Given that
the MOAs were not fully in place at the time of the RFPs for the 2010 grants, and that
states have not yet begun their data improvement plans, there was general support for the
need to continue the grant program. Team members commented in support of the
following general recommendations:

e Continue the program for at least 2 more years at the same level of funding as
2010 to enable states to use funds to address requirements in Addendum 11 to their
MOAs and to implement the registry data improvement plans they will be
developing later this year;

e |t is acceptable to maintain the same regional funding allocations for 2011 (but
see below for years beyond);

L ASMFC recently issued a second RFP to states that did not apply for a grant in the first call.

2 A $100,000 award is still pending for Florida. If awarded, the balance would be $85,908

# Although the four Pacific states were not able to apply for a grant during the 2010 call period, they all
have identified project proposals they would like to seek funding for in 2011.




e NMFS should consider expanding eligibility to projects that will address survey
improvements identified in the MOAs of states that are exempt via participation
in regional surveys, beginning in 2012;

e If regional survey improvements are included, it will be necessary to re-visit the
regional allocation of the available funding.

3. Discussion of potential revisions to the final rule for the Registry Program (current text of
the final rule is bulleted and italicized below)

e 8600.1405(a) No person may engage in the activities listed in paragraph (a) of
this section unless that person:
(7) Holds a commercial fishing license or permit issued by NMFS or a state and

is lawfully fishing or in possession of fish taken under the terms and conditions of
such license or permit;

Revision Suggested: insert following “lawfully”; “engaged in commercial” &/OR add at
the end of the paragraph, “and is not engaged in operating a for-hire fishing vessel”.
There are situations in which for-hire fishing vessels are required to obtain a permit or
license that is titled a “commercial” license by the issuing authority (e.g. the State of
Hawaii’s Commercial Marine License). These vessels could be regarded as not required
to register despite the intent of the rule to only exclude vessels that are commercially
fishing.

Discussion: Registry Team members did not object to the proposed revision. It was
noted that, if adopted, the State of Hawaii would need to seek a registry exemption for its
for-hire fishing vessels in order for them to be excluded from the requirement to register
with NOAA, and that the state’s license would likely qualify for such an exemption.

e 8600.1405(a) No person may engage in the activities listed in paragraph (a) of
this section unless that person:
(8) holds an HMS Angling permit under 50 CFR 635.4(c);

Revision Suggested: Add at the end of the paragraph: or a main Hawaiian Islands Non-
commercial Bottomfish Permit under 50 CFR 665.203. Bottomfish permit holders’ data
could be added to the registry, just as the HMS permit holders’ data is under the current
rule.

Discussion: It was noted that the Western Pacific Fishery Management Council and
PIRO support this revision. Registry Team members supported the proposed change.

e 8600.1415 Procedures for designating exempted states-general provisions.
(a) States with an exempted state designation must:

(1) Submit state angler and for-hire vessel license holder data to NMFS for



inclusion in a national or regional registry database; or

Revision Suggested: Clarify whether states must submit registry data on spear fishers in
addition to anglers. The requirements applicable to person who must register with
NOAA apply to person engaged in spear fishing. Should the same requirement be
extended to exempted state registries?

Discussion: While there was support for clarifying the question, the Registry Team
members did not advocate for adding spear fishers as a required component of exempted
state registrant data.

e 8600.1416 Requirements for exempted state designation based on submission of
state license holder data.
(a) A state must annually submit to NMFS, in a format consistent with NMFS
guidelines, the name, address and, to the extent available in the state’s database,
telephone number and date of birth of all persons and for-hire vessels and for-
hire vessel operators who are licensed to fish, or who are registered as fishing, in
the EEZ, in the tidal waters of the state, or for anadromous species.

Revisions Suggested:

1. Clarify that state registry data must be updated annually. Although this was the intent
of the rule as adopted, some persons have interpreted the “annually submit” language
as only requiring a submission, and not an updated list of state registrants.

2. Consider requiring only a partial DOB (month/year or day/month) to reduce the risk
of including Personally Identifiable Information (PII) in the registry database.

3. Clarify what information is required for for-hire vessels (e.g. vessels don’t have
addresses or DOBS).

Discussion: The Registry Team members generally agreed with the original intent to
require state license/registry data to be updated annually. There was some discussion of
the potential for states to go to 2-year licenses. This was characterized as a “slippery
slope” that could result in multi-year license/registry lists that are not sufficient for
survey sample frames.

The Team members did not object to requiring a partial DOB. It was generally agreed
that the technical advice of the Registry Database Work Group should be sought for this
question.

There was no objection to clarifying the for-hire vessel data requirements.

e 8600.1416(b) A state is eligible to be designated as an exempted state even if its
licensing program excludes anglers who are:
(1) Under 16 years of age;



Revision Suggested: Change “16” to “17”. It was recently learned that Texas excludes
anglers under 17 years of age from its license requirements. All other states that exclude
junior anglers exclude those under 16. In order for Texas to qualify as an exempted state,
this revision would be necessary.

Discussion: There was no objection voiced by the Registry Team members to the
proposed revision.

e 8600.1416 (b) A state is eligible to be designated as an exempted state even if its
licensing program excludes anglers who are:

Revision Suggested: Add a new paragraph to this section: (7) Fishing on “free fishing
days”. Most states that require paid fishing licenses allow anglers to fish without a
license on one or a few days per year as an angling promotion and education program.

Discussion: The Registry Team members did not object to adding free fishing days to the
list of exceptions to state license requirements that would not disqualify the state from
exempted state designation.

e 8600.1416 (c) Unless the state can demonstrate that a given category of anglers is
so small it has no significant probability of biasing estimates of fishing effort if
these anglers are not included in a representative sample, a state may not be
designated as an exempted state if its licensing program excludes anglers that
meet any of the following conditions:

Revision Suggested: Add the words “or registration” after “licensing”. This simply
corrects an omission and is consistent with the remainder of the rule.

Discussion: There was no objection to this proposed revision.

e 8§8600.1416(d) Required enhancements to exempted state license-holder data. An
exempted state must submit the following angler identification data by Jan. 1,
2012, or within two years of the effective date of the Memorandum of Agreement,
whichever is later, and thereafter in accordance with the Memorandum of
Agreement:

Revisions Suggested:

1. Add anew paragraph (d) that will address any state license exceptions that are not
addressed in paragraphs (a) or (b) above, and renumber the current (d) as (e). Some
states have proposed exceptions to their license/registration requirements that are not
among those listed in 8 600.1416 (a) or (b). If enacted, it is not clear whether these
exceptions would disqualify such a state from retaining its exempted state
designation.



2. Consider extending the two year period. States that need to enact legislation to
address the requirements of § 600.1416(d) may find it difficult to complete that
process within two years of the signing of its MOA, particularly depending on the
timing or the MOA adoption and the state’s legislative cycle.

Discussion: Registry Team members commented that state license exceptions not
specifically listed should be generally regarded as disqualifying unless a state can make
the case that it meets the “so small it has no significant probability of biasing estimates of
fishing effort” test in § 600.1416 (c).

There was support for providing a discretionary option for extension of a two-year
deadline, where NMFS determined that a state had initiated required legislation and
needed an additional year to pursue its enactment.

e §600.1416 (d) Required enhancements to exempted state license-holder data. An
exempted state must submit the following angler identification data by Jan. 1,
2012, or within two years of the effective date of the Memorandum of Agreement,
whichever is later, and thereafter in accordance with the Memorandum of
Agreement:

(1) Name, address and telephone number of excluded anglers over age 59;

Revision Suggested: Specify that registration data for anglers over age 59 must be
updated annually, just as data for current license holders/registrants needs to be annually
updated.

Discussion: Registry Team members did not object to this suggestion.

e §8600.1416 (d) Required enhancements to exempted state license-holder data. An
exempted state must submit the following angler identification data by Jan. 1,
2012, or within two years of the effective date of the Memorandum of Agreement,
whichever is later, and thereafter in accordance with the Memorandum of
Agreement:

(3) Name, address and telephone number of state combination license holders
who fished in tidal waters in the prior year, or who intend to fish in tidal waters.

Revision Suggested: Consider modifying this requirement if the team developing the
new effort survey design believes a combination license frame is acceptable.

Discussion: The Registry Team would need technical advice from the Operations Team
Work Group in order to determine the advisability of this suggestion. It may be advisable
to add some flexibility to this provision of the rule.

e §600.1417 Requirements for exempted state designation based on submission of
recreational survey data.
(a)A qualifying regional survey must:




(1) Include all of the states within each region as follows:
(iii) Puerto Rico and the U. S. Virgin Islands;

Revision Suggested: Consider allowing a regional survey-based exemption for USVI. It
was noted that the nature of the fishery in USVI may be more like the fisheries in the
western Pacific, and, as with WPacFIN, a different survey design may be needed in the
Virgin Islands. Requiring a registry may be too rigid.

Discussion: The Registry Team members did not object to being more flexible about the
potential for designating an alternate data submission method for the Virgin Islands.

e §600.1417 Requirements for exempted state designation based on submission of
recreational survey data.
(b) A qualifying regional survey must:
(3) Utilize angler registry data to identify individuals to be surveyed by
telephone, if such regional survey includes a telephone survey component;

Revision Suggested: Add the words “or mail or internet” after “telephone”. New survey
designs being developed by MRIP are likely to use mail and internet in addition to
telephone surveys.

Discussion: The Registry Team members did not object to this suggestion.



