NOAA Fisheries Service **Pacific Islands Region**

National Saltwater Angler Registry



Federal law requires certain Hawaii recreational fishermen to sign up with the National Saltwater Angler Registry.

Who Needs to Register?

Hawaii recreational fishermen (including spear fishermen) who don't meet any of the exemptions listed below.

Who Is Exempt?

You do NOT need to register if you fish in freshwater, are under 16 years old, fish only on licensed charter boats, fish only within 3 miles from shore, or are fishing under a valid commercial marine license.

Out-of-state fishermen who are already registered with NOAA do not need to re-register to fish in Hawaii.

Is There a Fee to Register?

There is an annual \$25 fee to register.

Hawaii fishermen who are issued a Federal noncommercial bottomfish permit must also register
and pay the fee. Indigenous fishermen must
register, but are not required to pay a fee.

Why Register?

The registry is the law, and it helps NOAA Fisheries Service and fishermen work together to gather better catch data to ensure the future of marine recreational fishing in Hawaii.

To register or learn more go to: www.CountMyFish.noaa.gov or call 1-888-674-7411.



Make your Catch Count!



Frequently Asked Questions

What is the purpose of the Registry?

The registry serves as a national "phone book" of recreational fishermen. It will allow NOAA Fisheries Service to quickly and easily contact you to ask questions about your recent fishing activity. This information allows NOAA Fisheries Service to estimate the health of fish populations and to check that protections put in place to conserve fisheries will be fair, effective, and based on sound science.

Should I just get myself a commercial marine license and save myself the trouble?

You should get the license that best meets your fishing needs. Commercial fishing licenses enable fishermen to sell their catch in Hawaii. The registry is for fishermen who don't make their primary living from fishing, even if they mostly fish for food for themselves, their families and their neighbors. Anyone considering a commercial license should also be aware of the reporting requirements of the commercial fishery.

Do recreational fishermen really have that great of an impact on the resource?

Many people assume the number of fish caught by recreational fishermen must be minimal in comparison to the commercial harvest. The truth is that more than 150,000 boat-based recreational fishermen in Hawaii typically land between 10 and 15 million pounds of fish each year.

Can I register and fish the same day?

Yes. You can register online or by phone and fish the same day. Simply write down the registration number to present to law enforcement officials, if requested. A registration card will follow in the mail.